- 1. Council President Giordano will call the meeting to order
- 2. **Ms. Hough** will administer the Oath of Office to Mayor **Nicholas Giordano** for a four-year term as Mayor of the Borough of Franklin.
- 3. **Mayor Giordano** will state "this meeting is being held in compliance with the provisions of the Open Public Meetings Act, P.L. 1975, Ch. 231. It has been properly advertised and certified by the Clerk."

4. Flag Salute

Mayor Giordano will invite all persons present to participate in the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag.

5. Roll Call of 2015 Borough Council Members

Mayor Giordano shall request a roll call of the 2015 Governing Body:

Mr. Babcock, Mr. Dabinett, Mr. Giordano, Mr. Limon, Mr. Martinez, Mr. Snyder and Mayor Crowley

6. Oaths of Office

- a. **Ms. Hough** will read the "Statement of Determination" of the Board of County Canvassers.
- b. **Ms. Hough** will administer the Oath of Office to Councilman-elect **Michael Rathbun** for a three-year term as Councilman of the Borough of Franklin.
- c. **Ms. Hough** will administer the Oath of Office to Councilman-elect **Gilbert J. Snyder** for a three-year term as Councilman of the Borough of Franklin.

7. Roll Call of 2016 Borough Council Members

Mayor Giordano will request a roll call of the 2016 Governing Body.

Mr. Dabinett, Mr. Limon, Mr. Martinez, Mr. Rathbun, Mr. Snyder and Mayor Giordano.

8. Council Appointment: Council President

Mayor Giordano will open the floor for Council nominations to the position of **Council President** for 2016.

9. Fire Department Chief and Line Officers

- a. **Mayor Giordano** will recognize the Chief of the Franklin Fire Department for 2016, Chief Fred Babcock.
- b. **Ms. Hough** will administer the Oath of Office to the Chief of the Franklin Fire Department for 2016, Chief Fred Babcock.
- c. **Ms. Hough** will recognize Fire Chief Fred Babcock who will introduce the 2016 Line Officers of the Franklin Fire Department.
- d. **Ms. Hough** will administer the Oath of Office to the **Line Officers** of the Franklin Fire Department for 2016.

10. Mayor's Appointments

At this time, **Mayor Giordano** will present his nominations for appointment to the various positions of Borough Government for the year 2016.

Anthony DenUyl Prosecutor (1 yr.) Public Defender (1 yr.) Daniel A. Colfax, Esq. Municipal Housing Liaison (1 yr.) Alison Littell McHose Right to Know Coordinator Brian VanDenBroek Assessment Search Officer (1 yr.) Robin Hough Tax Search Officer (1 yr.) Theresa Schlosser Borough Physician (1 yr.) Dennis Fielding Animal Control Officer (1 yr.) John Abate

School Crossing Head Guard (1 yr.)

Lynn Warr Prtorich

School Crossing Guards Rose Breidenstein, Lisa Conte

Ann Grabkowski, Bobbi Formica Judith Gurdak, April Kunz-Oleksy Cathy Martinez, Jennifer Neal

Mary Payton, Cara Ross

Emily VanDyk, Rachel VanDyk

Margaret Wellenheider, Charlotte Drum

Judge (3yr.) Expires 12/31/17 James Devine, Esq.

Emergency Management Coordinator (3 yr) Jim Williams

A motion is in order for the Council to confirm the Mayor's Appointments.

11. Resolution 2016-13 Appointment of Chief Financial Officer

A motion is in order to adopt resolution 2016-13 reappointing Monica B. Miebach as Chief Financial Officer.

12. Appointments: Planning Board

At this time, the **Council** shall, by motion, select a representative to serve on the Planning Board as a Full Member Class III (1 yr.)

Member Class III Councilmember

Mayor Giordano shall make the following appointments to the Planning Board:

Mayor (Class I)

Alternate #2 (2 yr. term expires 12/31/2017)

Fire Safety Class II (1 yr. term)

Mayor Giordano
Sean Kidd
Jim Williams

13. Appointments: Boards and Commissions

Mayor Giordano shall nominate appointments for the various Boards and Commissions of the Borough of Franklin for 2016.

ZONING BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT

Member4 year (term expires 12/31/2019)Stephen SkellengerMember4 year (term expires 12/31/2019)Louise MurphyAlternate #12 year term (term expires 12/31/2017)Dawn Fantasia

BOARD OF PUBLIC WORKS

Member 3 year term (term expires 12/31/2018) Glen Soules Alternate #1 3 year term (term expires 12/31/2018) Vacant

FRANKLIN/HARDYSTON JOINT RECREATION COMMITTEE

All current Board of Recreation Commissioners 1 year term

RECREATION COMMISSION

Member 5 year term (term expires 12/31/2020) Jennifer Giordano
Member 5 year term (term expires 12/31/2020) Mike Rathbun
Alternate#2 4 year term (term expires 12/31/2017) Kevin Karpowicz

BOARD OF HEALTH

Secretary 1 year term Rachel Heath

LOCAL EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL

Mayor Deputy Member/OEM Member/FFD Member/WVFAS Member Member Member Member	1 year term	Nicholas Giordano Eugene McInerney Jim Williams Fred Babcock Christina Brossman Monica Miebach Alison Littell McHose Steve Sluka
Member	1 year term	Alison Littell McHose

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Member	1 year term	Steve Zydon
Member	1 year term	Judy Williams
Member	1 year term	Vacant
Member	1 year term	Dawn Fantasia
Member	1 year term	Vacant
Member	1 year term	Mike Rathbun
Alternate #1	1 year term	Vacant
Alternate #2	1 year term	Vacant

RENT LEVELING BOARD

Member	5 year term (term expires 12/31/2020)	Dayne Hill
Alt# 1	1 year term	Vacant
Alt#2	1 year term	Glen Soules

A motion is in order for the Council to confirm the Mayor's Appointments.

COUNCIL COMMITTEE DUTIES

14. Council Committee Duties

Mayor Giordano shall announce Council Committee duties for the year 2016 with the Mayor named as Ex-Officio Member of each Committee.

JANUARY 1, 2016

a. ADMINISTRATIVE: Ordinance

Member: Mr. Dabinett Member: Mr. Rathbun Member: Mr. Limon

b. ADMINISTRATIVE: Finance, Budget & Insurance

Member: Mr. Snyder Member: Mr. Martinez Member: Mayor Giordano

c. **BOARD OF PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE**

Member: Mr. Dabinett Member: Mr. Snyder Member: Mr. Rathbun

d. PERSONNEL & NEGOTIATIONS:

Member: Mr. Martinez Member: Mr. Snyder Member: Mr. Limon

e. PUBLIC SAFETY: Police & Fire

Member: Mr. Rathbun Member: Mr. Martinez Member: Mr. Dabinett

f. BUILDING AND GROUNDS COMMITTEE

Member: Snyder Member: Martinez

G. COMMUNITY RELATIONS: Council Representatives to:

Recreation Commission, Economic Development, also serves as the "Awards Committee."

Member: Mr. **Economic Development**

Member: **TBA** Recreation

Joint Recreation Commission Liaison: Mr.

Members: Rent Leveling Board

Mr. Limon

15. Approval of Consent Agenda

Mayor Giordano will request that all present review the consent agenda. If any member of the Council or public wishes an item on the consent agenda to be discussed and considered separately, a motion to this effect shall be made at this time.

After all persons present have had an opportunity to review the consent agenda and offer requests for changes, Mayor Giordano will request a motion to approve the consent agenda.

16. Mayor's Statement

Mayor Giordano will address the Council and the public with remarks concerning the priorities and goals for the Borough of Franklin in 2016.

17. Council Comments

Mayor Giordano will invite each member of the Council to offer remarks concerning the 2016 Council's goals and priorities.

18. Adjournment

A motion is in order to adjourn the meeting.