- 1. Mayor Giordano will call the meeting to order
- 3. **Mayor Giordano** will state "this meeting is being held in compliance with the provisions of the Open Public Meetings Act, P.L. 1975, Ch. 231. It has been properly advertised and certified by the Clerk."

4. Flag Salute

Mayor Giordano will invite all persons present to participate in the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag.

5. Roll Call of 2016 Borough Council Members

Mayor Giordano shall request a roll call of the 2016 Governing Body:

Mr. Dabinett, Ms. Fantasia, Mr. Limon, Mr. Rathbun, Mr. Skellenger, Mr. Snyder and Mayor Giordano.

6. Oaths of Office

- a. **Ms. Hough** will read the "Statement of Determination" of the Board of County Canvassers.
- b. **Ms. Hough** will administer the Oath of Office to Councilwoman-elect **Dawn Fantasia** for a three-year term as Councilman of the Borough of Franklin.
- c. **Ms. Hough** will administer the Oath of Office to Councilman-elect **Stephen M. Skellenger** for a three-year term as Councilman of the Borough of Franklin.

7. Roll Call of 2017 Borough Council Members

Mayor Giordano will request a roll call of the 2017 Governing Body.

Mr. Dabinett, Ms. Fantasia, Mr. Limon, Mr. Rathbun, Mr. Skellenger, Mr. Snyder and Mayor Giordano.

8. Council Appointment: Council President

Mayor Giordano will open the floor for Council nominations to the position of **Council President** for 2017.

9. Fire Department Chief and Line Officers

- a. **Mayor Giordano** will recognize the Chief of the Franklin Fire Department for 2017, Chief Fred Babcock.
- b. **Ms. Hough** will administer the Oath of Office to the Chief of the Franklin Fire Department for 2017, Chief Fred Babcock.
- c. **Ms. Hough** will recognize Fire Chief Fred Babcock who will introduce the 2017 Line Officers of the Franklin Fire Department.
- d. **Ms. Hough** will administer the Oath of Office to the **Line Officers** of the Franklin Fire Department for 2017.

10. Mayor's Appointments

At this time, **Mayor Giordano** will present his nominations for appointment to the various positions of Borough Government for the year 2017.

Municipal Housing Liaison (1 yr.)

Right to Know Coordinator

Assessment Search Officer (1 yr.)

Tax Search Officer (1 yr.)

Borough Physician (1 yr.)

Alison Littell McHose

Brian VanDenBroek

Robin Hough

Theresa Schlosser

Dennis Fielding

John Abate

School Crossing Head Guard (1 yr.)

Lynn Warr Prtorich

School Crossing Guards

Rose Breidenstein, Lisa Conte

Charlotte Drum, Barbara Formica Ann Grabkowski, April Kunz-Oleksy

Kathy Martinez, Jennifer Neal Mary Payton, Cara Ross Emily VanDyk, Rachel VanDyk

Margaret Wellenheider

Judge (3yr.) Expires 12/31/17 James Devine, Esq.

Emergency Management Coordinator (3 yr) Jim Williams

A motion is in order for the Council to confirm the Mayor's Appointments.

11. Resolution 2017- 13 Appointment of Tax Collector

A motion is in order to adopt resolution 2017- reappointing Theresa Schlosser as Franklin Borough Tax Collector.

12. Appointments: Land Use Board

At this time, the **Council** shall, by motion, select a representative to serve on the Land Use Board as a Full Member Class III (1 yr.)

Member Class III Councilmember

Mayor Giordano shall make the following appointments to the Land Use Board:

To Be Determined

13. Appointments: Boards and Commissions

Mayor Giordano shall nominate appointments for the various Boards and Commissions of the Borough of Franklin for 2017.

RECREATION COMMISSION

Member	5 year term (term expires 12/31/2021)	Sarah Zydon
Member	5 year term (term expires 12/31/2021)	Mike Gunderman
Member	5 year term (term expires 12/31/2021	Jeffrey Korger
Alternate#1	5 year term (term expires 12/31/2021)	Vacant

FRANKLIN/HARDYSTON JOINT RECREATION COMMITTEE

All current Board of Recreation Commissioners 1 year term

AGENDA FOR THE ORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE MAYOR AND COUNCIL OF THE BOROUGH OF FRANKLIN LD AT THE MUNICIPAL BUILDING 46 MAIN STRE

HELD AT THE MUNICIPAL BUILDING, 46 MAIN STREET, FRANKLIN, NJ AT 12:00 NOON ON JANUARY 1, 2017

BOARD OF HEALTH

Member	4 year term (term expires 12/31/2020)	Vicky Yahm
Member	4 year term (term expires 12/31/2020)	Vacant
Member	4 year unexpired term (term expires 12/31/18	3) Rachel Heath
Secretary	1 year term	Rachel Heath

LOCAL EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL

Mayor Deputy Member/OEM Member/FFD Member/WVFAS Member	1 year term	Nicholas Giordano Eugene McInerney Jim Williams Fred Babcock Christina Brossman Monica Miebach Alison Littell McHose Steve Sluka Dayne Hill Don Stoll James Nidelko Brian Van Den Broek
Member	1 year term	Brian VanDenBroek

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Member	1 year term	Steve Zydon
Member	1 year term	Judy Williams
Member	1 year term	John Postas
Member/Council	1 year term	TBD
Member	1 year term	Vacant
Member	1 year term	Vacant
Alternate #1	1 year term	Vacant
Alternate #2	1 year term	Vacant

RENT LEVELING BOARD

Member	5 year term (term expires 12/31/2020)	Dayne Hill
Alt# 1	1 year term (term expires 12/31/2018)	Vacant
Alt# 2	1 year term (term expires 12/31/2018)	Glenn Soules

A motion is in order for the Council to confirm the Mayor's Appointments.

COUNCIL COMMITTEE DUTIES

14. Council Committee Duties

Mayor Giordano shall announce Council Committee duties for the year 2017 with the Mayor named as Ex-Officio Member of each Committee.

a. **ADMINISTRATIVE:** Ordinance

Member: Mr. Dabinett Member: Mr. Rathbun Member: Mr. Limon

b. **ADMINISTRATIVE:** Finance, Budget & Insurance

Member: Mr. Snyder Member: Mr. Limon Member: Ms. Fantasia

c. **BOARD OF PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE**

Member: Mr. Dabinett Member: Mr. Skellenger Member: Mr. Rathbun

d. PERSONNEL & NEGOTIATIONS:

Member: Ms. Fantasia Member: Mr. Limon Member: Mr. Skellenger

e. PUBLIC SAFETY: Police & Fire

Member: Mr. Rathbun Member: Mr. Skellenger Member: Mr. Dabinett

f. **BUILDING AND GROUNDS COMMITTEE**

Member: Mr. Snyder Member: Mr. Skellenger Member: Mayor Giordano

G. **COMMUNITY <u>RELATIONS</u>**: Council Representatives to:

Recreation Commission, Economic Development, also serves as the "Awards Committee."

Member: Ms. Fantasia Economic Development

Member: Joe Limon Recreation

Liaison: Joe Limon Joint Recreation Commission

Members: Rent Leveling Board

Mr. Limon

15. Approval of Consent Agenda

Mayor Giordano will request that all present review the consent agenda. If any member of the Council or public wishes an item on the consent agenda to be discussed and considered separately, a motion to this effect shall be made at this time.

After all persons present have had an opportunity to review the consent agenda and offer requests for changes, **Mayor Giordano** will request a motion to approve the consent agenda.

16. Sussex County Habitat for Humanity

A motion is in order to authorize the Mayor to execute a side letter to Sussex County Habitat for Humanity committing the Borough to waiver of tax obligations accruing for three lots on Munsonhurst Road while the property/ies are developed pursuant to an agreement approved by the Borough Council on November 22, 2016.

17. Employee Holiday Schedule

A motion is in order to amend the Borough Employee Manual Paid Holiday Policy, page 30 of the employee manual to eliminate Lincoln's Birthday as a paid Holiday for Borough employees.

18. Mayor's Statement

Mayor Giordano will address the Council and the public with remarks concerning the priorities and goals for the Borough of Franklin in 2017.

19. Council Comments

Mayor Giordano will invite each member of the Council to offer remarks concerning the 2017 Council's goals and priorities.

20. Adjournment

A motion is in order to adjourn the meeting.