# 1. Council President and Acting Mayor Skellenger will call the meeting to order.

- 2. **Ms. Tremont** will administer the Oath of Office to Mayor-elect **John M. Sowden IV** for a four-year term as Mayor of the Borough of Franklin.
- 3. **Mayor Sowden** will state "this meeting is being held in compliance with the provisions of the Open Public Meetings Act, P.L. 1975, Ch. 231. It has been properly advertised and certified by the Clerk."

# 4. Flag Salute

**Mayor Sowden** will invite all persons present to participate in the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag.

### 5. Roll Call of 2019 Borough Council Members

Mayor Sowden shall request a roll call of the 2019 Governing Body:

Mr. Limon, Mr. Postas, Mr. Skellenger, Mr. Snyder, Mr. Soules and Mr. Zydon

### 6. Oaths of Office

- a. **Ms. Tremont** will read the "Statement of Determination" of the Board of County Canvassers.
- b. Honorable Steven V. Oroho, Senator will administer the Oath of Office to Councilman-elect Stephen M. Skellenger for a three-year term as Councilman of the Borough of Franklin.
- c. **Ms. Tremont** will administer the Oath of Office to Councilman-elect **Concetto Formica** for a three-year term as Councilman of the Borough of Franklin.

# 7. Roll Call of 2020 Borough Council Members

Mayor Sowden will request a roll call of the 2020 Governing Body.

Mr. Formica, Mr. Limon, Mr. Postas, Mr. Skellenger, Mr. Snyder, Mr. Zydon and Mayor Sowden.

#### 8. Council Appointment: Council President

Mayor Sowden will open the floor for Council nominations to the position of Council President for 2020.

#### 9. Fire Department Chief and Line Officers

- a. **Mayor Sowden** will recognize the Chief of the Franklin Fire Department for 2020, Chief Khyle Conklin.
- b. **Ms. Tremont** will administer the Oath of Office to the Chief of the Franklin Fire Department for 2020, Chief Khyle Conklin.
- c. **Ms. Tremont** will recognize Fire Chief Khyle Conklin who will introduce the 2020 Line Officers and Administrative Officers of the Franklin Fire Department.
- d. **Ms. Tremont** will administer the Oath of Office to the **Line Officers and Administrative Officers** of the Franklin Fire Department for 2020.

### 10. Mayor's Appointments

At this time, **Mayor Sowden** will present his nominations for appointment to the various positions of Borough Government for the year 2020.

Prosecutor (1 yr.) Public Defender (1 yr.) Municipal Housing Liaison (1 yr.) Right to Know Coordinator Assessment Search Officer (1 yr.) Tax Search Officer (1 yr.) Borough Physician (1 yr.) Animal Control Officer (1 yr.) School Crossing Head Guard (1 yr.) School Crossing Guards (1yr.)

Anthony DenUyl James Opfer, Esq. Alison Littell McHose Brian VanDenBroek **Darlene Tremont** Township of Wantage Dr. Bollard, Premier Health To Be Determined Lynn Warr Prtorich Rebecca Babcock, Rose Breidenstein, Kathleen Clohessey, Lisa Conte, Bobbi Formica, Ann Grabkowski April Kunz-Oleksy, Cathy Martinez, Bonnie McCouch, Mary Payton, Cara Ross, Amanda Tassillo, Rachel VanDyk, Margaret Wellenheider,

Emergency Management Coordinator (3 yrs.) (Expires 12/31/2022)

Jim Williams

A motion is in order for the Council to confirm the Mayor's Appointments.

### 11. Appointments: Planning Board

At this time, the **Council** shall, by motion, select a representative to serve on the Planning Board as a Full Member Class III (1 yr.)

Member Class III

Councilmember

Mayor Sowden shall make the following appointments to the Planning Board:

Mayor (Class I) Mayor Sowden Fire Safety (Class II) 1 yr. term (term expires 12/31/2020) Jim Williams Member (Class IV) 4 yr. term (term expires 12/31/2023) Floy Estes Alternate #1 2 yr. term (unexpired term 12/31/2020) Michael Raperto Alternate #2 2 yr. term (unexpired term 12/31/2020 **Steve DeFinis** 2 yr. term (term expires 12/31/2021) Alternate #3 Sharon Schultz Alternate #4 2 yr. term (term expires 12/31/2021) Vacant

# 12. Appointments: Boards and Commissions

#### FRANKLIN/HARDYSTON JOINT RECREATION COMMITTEE

All current Board of Recreation Committee Members 1-year term

### **RECREATION COMMITTEE**

Council Liaison

Stephen Skellenger

# **BOARD OF HEALTH**

Secretary

1-year term

**Rachel Heath** 

#### LOCAL EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL

Mayor Deputy Member/OEM Member/FFD Member/WVFAS Member Member Member Member Member Member	1-year term 1-year term 1-year term 1-year term 1-year term 1-year term 1-year term 1-year term 1-year term 1-year term	John M. Sowden Gregory Cugliari Jim Williams Khyle Conklin John Friend CFO-TBT Alison Littell McHose Steve Sluka Dayne Hill Don Stoll James Nidelko
Member Member	1-year term 1-year term	James Nidelko Brian VanDenBroek

#### ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Member/Chair Member/Secretary	1-year term 1-year term	Patti Carnes Judy Williams
Member	1-year term	Keith Yodice
Member	1-year term	Dawne Rowe
Member	1-year term	Vacant
Member	1-year term	Vacant
Member	1-year term	Vacant
Member/Council	1-year term	Stephan Zydon
Alternate #1	1-year term	Vacant
Alternate #2	1-year term	Vacant

#### **RENT LEVELING BOARD**

Member	5-year term (term expires 12/31/2020)	Vacant
Member/Council	1-year term (term expires 12/31/2020)	Vacant
Member/Council	1-year term (term expires 12/31/2020)	Vacant
Alt# 1	1-year term (term expires 12/31/2020)	Vacant
Alt#2	1-year term (term expires 12/31/2020)	Vacant
Attorney	1-year term (term expires 12/31/2020)	Angelo Bolcato
		Laddey, Clark & Ryan

A motion is in order for the Council to confirm the Mayor's Appointments.

# COUNCIL COMMITTEE DUTIES

### 13. Council Committee Duties

**Mayor Sowden** shall announce Council Committee duties for the year 2020 with the Mayor named as Ex-Officio Member of each Committee.

#### a. ORDINANCE:

Member: Mr. Snyder Member: Mr. Zydon Member: Mr. Formica

#### b. FINANCE, BUDGET AND INSURANCE:

Member: Mr. Postas Member: Mr. Zydon Member: Mr. Formica

### c. **PUBLIC UTILITIES:**

Member: Mr. Limon Member: Mr. Postas Member: Mr. Zydon

### d. PERSONNEL & NEGOTIATIONS:

Member: Mr. Snyder Member: Mr. Zydon Member: Mr. Limon

### e. **PUBLIC SAFETY:** Police & Fire

Member: Mr. Sowden Member: Mr. Skellenger Member: Mr. Postas Alternate: Mr. Formica

# f. BUILDING AND GROUNDS COMMITTEE

Member: Mr. Snyder Member: Mr. Zydon Member: Mr. Formica Alternate: Mr. Limon

### G. COMMUNITY RELATIONS: Council Representatives to:

Recreation Committee, Economic Development, also serves as the "Awards Committee."

Member:	Stephan Zydon	Economic Development
Member:	Stephen Skellenger	Recreation Committee
Liaison:	Stephen Skellenger	Joint Recreation Commission

# 14. Approval of Consent Agenda

**Mayor Sowden** will request that all present review the consent agenda. If any member of the Council or public wishes an item on the consent agenda to be discussed and considered separately, a motion to this effect shall be made at this time.

After all persons present have had an opportunity to review the consent agenda and offer requests for changes, **Mayor Sowden** will request a motion to approve the consent agenda.

#### 15. Mayor's Statement

**Mayor Sowden** will address the Council and the public with remarks concerning the priorities and goals for the Borough of Franklin in 2020.

# 16. Council Comments

**Mayor Sowden** will invite each member of the Council to offer remarks concerning the 2020 Council's goals and priorities.

# 17. Adjournment

A motion is in order to adjourn the meeting.